Rodney Pyne Memorial Peak Hill Climb 2021

Due to unforeseen circumstances the 2021 event has unfortunately been cancelled.

Peak Hill is our famous hill climb challenge which has been held annually since 2003 in the memory of local Hotelier and keen Cyclist, Rodney Pyne.

Our Hill Climb Course consists of approximately 165m of climbing over a distance of about 1.7km, giving an average gradient of around 13% with the steepest section topping out at 23% !

Peak Hill is an iconic climb and attracts cyclists from all over the UK.  It’s featured in several national events including the 2012 Tour of Britain, a year in which Bradley Wiggins rode.

In 2006 SVCC hosted the National Hill Climb championship event on this course, which was won by the UK champion James Dobbin in a time of 4.44. This still remains the overall record for the event.

Check out our all time results page to see a complete list of times for every event since 2003.

Sunday 3rd October 2021 – 10am

Venue: Sidmouth Sailing Club – Refreshments and Full Changing Facilities Available.

Entry: Main Event £5 ,  Team £15

This year we’re making our annual memorial hill climb bigger and better!  We are organising our regular hill climb up the legendary Peak Hill in Sidmouth. and alongside this we are introducing several brand new categories , a team event and prizes for best local riders.

We have also got a new event HQ! Sidmouth Sailing Club at the Port Royal end of the esplanade will now host the sign on and provide toilets and changing facilities.

Download the Event Flyer

As always the event is generously supported by local businesses who provide many of the prizes for the event.


1st – The Rodney Pyne Memorial Shield & SVCC Trophy & Magnum of Champagne & £100

2nd – Potbury’s Trophy & £50

3rd – Winchester Trophy & £25

1st Lady – £30 & SVCC Trophy

1st Veteran 40-49 – £10

1st Veteran 50+ – £10

1st Veteran 60+ – £10


Team competition Prizes by Pro Vision sports clothing – 3 riders in a team (can be mixed) – (Any rider that finishes in the top three can only claim one cash prize)

1st Team – TBA

2nd Team – TBA

3rd Team – TBA


Local Rider Competition Prizes Colyford Cycles 

Best Male Rider -Voucher

Best Female Rider – Voucher

All riders that complete the Rodney Pyne Hill Climb will receive a commemorative Water Bottle.


Top 10 All Time Riders

Sid Valley CC Ranking

(Past & Present)

Rider NameClub / SponsorTimeOverall PositionEvent Year
James DobbinArctic Shorter Rochford RT04:44.012006
Andrew FeatherBike Chain05:06.6722017
David ClarkeNippo KFS05:07.032006
Jonathan DayusArctic Shorter Rochford RT05:07.742006
George KimberTeam PB Performance05:09.6452018
Jim HendersonSouthport CC05:10.762006
Daniel ShandWest Pennine RC05:12.372006
Andrew FeatherChampion System UK05:14.2082019
George KimberC.S.Dynamo05:15.81102017
SVCC Rider (Past & Present)TimeClub Pos.Overall Pos.Event Year
Philip Borrett06:02.71742006
Jack Salvidge06:14.121022014
Russell Powell06:16.331092008
James Jackson06:16.941122007
Russell Powell06:19.7651192016
James Jackson06:20.461222009
Josh Allen06:23.4371292018
Russell Powell06:28.181412007
Nick Keast06:30.491452009
Neil Tubbs06:31.8101512005